The Song About Alpha Widows, with a good bit of Friendzone.

I heard it. And it stuck. But it took about a year to fully realize what this amazing song is about–“Everything you Want” by Vertical Horizon.

I dated an Alpha widow, and got friendzoned, despite all the nice, wonderful, very typical things girls tell you when you’re getting friendzoned but they know they don’t have a reason they’re willing to say.

“Past the places where you might have turned
You never did notice
But you still hide away
The anger of angels who won’t return .”

She was burned out, and still completely attached to her ex. Some amazing, alpha guy, who had won her completely, heart, soul and body. Enough that she hooked up with him often after he dumped her, hoping to win him back. Around the time I met her, she was beginning to realize, as the song says, how how she still held the anger of past relationships. And then, the song touches on the dreaded friendzone that so many good, decent guys face in their 20’s, not because they lack looks or character, but because they just aren’t that guy. They aren’t the alpha bad boys, the exciting guys that girls want to hook up with.

“I am everything you want
I am everything you need
I am everything inside of you
That you wish you could be
I say all the right things
At exactly the right time
But I mean nothing to you and I don’t know why
And I don’t know why
Why
I don’t know…”

Just like the song, I had no clue, back when I was still unaware, still asleep, of *why* I didn’t earn the affections of the girl I “loved.” According to her, I was “sweet, cute, and smart.” I was a “stud.” And yet, when it came down to it, she “just had to be loyal to her ex.” I went home heartbroken, wondering how I had failed. I joked to her I would figure out how to be like her ex, and win girls. Her sarcastic response? “Sure, be an asshole like Dorean if you want, go ahead.”

Anyway, in summary, this song truly does reflect what so many guys are wondering today. “Why…? I’m everything you said you wanted. So why do I mean nothing to you?”

So let’s spread the word. Let’s help our brothers get past this. At my level, at college days, women have the upper hand, and far too many naive guys like the boy I was go home heartbroken. But we can change that.

Get your friends, your brothers, your buddies, everyone who doesn’t already know–point them to the truth. I found it, thanks to a man willing to spread the word.

http://therationalmale.com/2013/03/13/generation-alpha-widow/

Leave a Reply

